On behalf of our 58 Heads of School from New York Jewish Day Schools and Yeshivas

February 3, 2022

Dear Governor Hochul,

On behalf of our 58 Heads of School from New York Jewish Day Schools and Yeshivas —

We want to thank you for your leadership in keeping our schools safe in the face of increasing acts of terror and hate.

The horrific terror attack at a Texas synagogue this month is but one more reminder that Jews are a favored target of homegrown and foreign terrorists and haters. Bolstered by the proliferation of antisemitic rhetoric and threats, they are emboldened, making it necessary for our schools to employ costly, high-level security measures. With parent and school budgets already strained by the COVID-19 pandemic, they need help to afford the necessary measures to keep their staff, students, and families safe.

Your Fiscal Year 2023 Executive Budget proposal offers this much needed help. Your expansion of the Nonpublic School Safety Equipment (NPSE) Grant to $45 million – with broader flexibility for schools on how their per-pupil allocations are spent – leads the nation in strengthening security in our institutions. We are blessed that you and our elected officials in the legislature understand this terrifying reality and support programs to protect and secure Jewish and at-risk communities.

Thank you for working diligently to generously fund security in Jewish schools to protect students, teachers and parents. Thank you also for your role in funding a 7th round of the Securing Communities Against Hate Crimes grant program, which protects our houses of worship, community centers and other at-risk institutions.

We look forward to continued dialogue about stemming the spread of hate in our midst and bolstering safety in our communities.

With hopes for peace and safety,


Rabbi Ari Jacobson
Head of School
Adolph Schreiber Hebrew
Academy of Rockland (ASHAR)
Rabbi Albert Setton
Head of School
Barkai Yeshivah
Mrs. Stephanie Ives
Head of School
Beit Rabban
Rabbi David Maslaton
Beit Yaakov Orot Sarah
Rabbi Ephraim Blumenkrantz
Executive Director
Bnos Bais Yaakov
Avrohom Shor
Bnos Leah Prospect Park
Michael Salzbank
Executive Director
Bnos Malka Academy
Rabbi Eyal Benson
Darchai Menachem
Mrs. Lea Goldstein
Derech HaTorah Rocheste
Mrs. Lauren Feinberg
Head of School
Gan and Bnos Aliya
Chananya Berman
Executive Director
The Haor Beacon School
Ari Solomon
Executive Director
Adrianne Mittan
Executive Director
Hebrew Academy of Long Beach
Racheli Hackel
Executive Director
Hebrew Academy of Nassau
County (HANC)
Rabbi Michoel
Head of School
Head of School
Hebrew Academy of Long Beach Hebrew Academy of Nassau Ivdu School
Mrs. Ruth Garber
Jewish Foundation
School of Staten Island
Mrs. Dalia Shabatian
Mrs. Amanda Pogany
Head of School
Luria Academy of Brooklyn
Rabbi Richard Tobias
Magen David Yeshiva
High School
Rabbi Yossi Rubin
Executive Director
Maimonides Hebrew
Day School of the Capitol
Raizi Chechik
Head of School
Manhattan Day School
Rabbi Mordechai Yaffe
Rosh Yeshiva
Mesivta Ateres Yaakov
Rabbi Yitzchok Yurman
Mesivta Netzach Hatorah
Rabbi Farhi
Executive Director
Mill Basin Yeshiva
Dr. Daniel Vitow
Head Master
North Shore Hebrew
Academy High School
Rabbi Jeffrey Kobrin
Head of School
North Shore Hebrew
Academy Lower School
Rabbi Shmuel Shanowitz
Ohr Temimim School
Judah Weller
Executive Director
Ms. Temima Feldman
Head of School
Rabbi Arthur Schneier
Park East Day School
Rabbi Pinchas Avruch
Executive Director
Rabbi Jacob Joseph
(Boys & Girls Division)
Jonathan Cannon
Head of School
The Ramaz School
Rabbi Zev Meir Friedman
Rosh HaYeshiva
Rambam Mesivta
Rabbi Binny Krauss
Head of School
SAR Lower School
Rabbi Jonathan Kroll
Head of School
SAR Upper School
Rabbi Moshe Benayon
Executive Director
Shaare Torah (All Divisions)
Rabbi Scott Sokol
Head of School
Solomon Schechter
School of LI
Debby Hirshman
Chief Admin. Officer
Solomon Schechter School of
Dr. Chana Ushansky
Head of School
Staten Island Hebrew
Laura Lavine
Head of School
Syracuse Hebrew Day
Michael Kay
Head of School
The Leffell School
Ilana Ruskay-Kidd
Head of School
The Shefa School
Dr. Shmuel Reisbaum
Executive Director
Torah Academy for Girls
Rabbi Joshua Lookstein
Head Of School
Westchester Day School
Tami Stalbow
Executive Director
Westchester Hebrew High School
Deganit Ronen
Head Of School
Westchester Torah
Rabbi Baruch Rothman
Dir. of Institutional Advancement
Yeshiva Darchei Torah
Rabbi Menchel
Rosh HaYeshiva
Yeshiva Har Torah
Rabbi Ari Ginian
Executive Director
Yeshiva Ketana of LI
Ethel Salomon
Yeshiva Ketana of Manhattan
Rabbi Mark Landsman
Yeshiva of Central Queens
Rabbi Shayeh Kohn
Executive Director
Yeshiva of Far Rockaway
Feivy Lieberman
Executive Director
Yeshiva Torah Temima
Avi Pearl
Yeshiva Torah Temimah
Rabbi Mordechai Kamenetzky
Rosh HaYeshiva
Yeshiva Toras Chaim of
South Shore
Rabbi Joshua Kahn
Head of School
Yeshiva University High School
(Boys Divisions) (MTA)
Dr. Rabbi Jeffrey Rothman
Executive Director
Yeshivah of Flatbush
Eddie Saff
Executive Director
Yeshivat Darchei Eres (YDE)
Dani Keradnam
Yeshivat Mekor Haim